2007-04-29
The multiplayer part of the games seem to be missing anything that could be considered MMO, and I'm not sure which of the options should be used for the usual TCP/IP gaming (think I mistakenly tagged WEB for some game, and I now think that refers to browser - such as IE7 and Firefox - games) or the ones that use proprietary hubs (e.g. Battle.Net).

2007-04-29
Effectively when I wrote WEB i meant TCP-IP, but I think that LAN-parties still uses TCP-IP as transmission protocol, so I used WEB to mean world-wide, not room-wide.
Sadly I have to admit that I'm not a multiplayer expert, so you are welcome to suggest the correct names to use.
Propietary hubs are really different from TCP-IP games?

Renaming WEB in the right way, would left out those multiplayer Flash games, so we should find a new type too.

2007-04-29
The hubs aren't different in that sense, but they're different none-the-less (not all games have them and some even require their use to accomplish anything even remotely resembling multiplayer gaming). TCP/IP would still be the most obvious to me, even if LAN games use that (LAN games used to run over IPX rather than TCP/IP back in the days, and you most likely can run "LAN" over wireless and nullcable (though in case of nullcable it's only two computers/consoles together), too, so the argument starts to get pointless).

Internet is really the only word I can come up with that doesn't include LAN in it, but doesn't exclude wireless. And as I said, WEB seems to imply WWW (HTTP and the like), which is the thing used by web browsers and as such excludes most multiplayer games. Come to think of it, games that can run TCP/IP in LAN usually can run over the net, too, making no difference in there except for what they look for and if they use LAN broadcast packets for finding servers or not, so is there really need for the distinction in that case?

This is getting a bit too confusing even for me now, so I guess I'll leave it at that.

2007-05-01